Country/entity	Kenya
Region	Africa (excl MENA)
Agreement name	Kenya National Dialogue and Reconciliation - Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commission
Date	4 Mar 2008
Agreement status	Multiparty signed/agreed
Interim arrangement	Yes
-	Intrastate/intrastate conflict
level	Kenyan Post-Electoral Violence (2007 - 2008)
	The conflict emerged as post-election violence. After the incumbent President Kibaki was declared the winner of the Kenyan presidential elections in December 2007, complaints of fraud and a structural disadvantage affecting his competitor Raila Odinga lead to outbreaks of severe ethno-political violence. After the first incidents in the Rift Valley region, mainly directed against the Kikuyu ethnic group – the traditional powerbase of Kibaki – the fighting spread to the cities of Nairobi and Mombasa. After two months, Kibaki and Odinga agreed on a power-sharing agreement that granted Odinga the post as a Prime Minister and ended the violence. Close Kenyan Post-Electoral Violence (2007 - 2008)
Stage	Framework/substantive - partial
Conflict nature	Government
Peace process	Kenya peace process
Parties	On behalf of Government/PNU: - Hon. Martha Karua - Hon. Sam Ongeri - Hon. Mutula Kilonzo - Hon. Moses Wetang'ula On behalf of ODM: - Hon. Musalia Mudavadi - Hon. William Ruto - Hon. James Orengo - Hon. Sally Kosgei

Third parties	- Witnessed by: For the Panel of Eminent African Personalities, H.E. Oluyemi Adeniji, Session Chair
Description	This agreement provides for the implementation of a Truth and Reconciliation Commission. It defines its general parameters.

Agreement	KE_080304_Kenyan National Dialogue and Reconciliation-Truth, Justice and
document	Reconciliation Commission.pdf (opens in new tab)   Download PDF

## Women, girls and gender

Participation	Participation→Other Page 2, Guiding Principles:  The Commission will consist of seven members, with gender balance taken into account.
Equality	No specific mention.
Particular groups o women	<b>f</b> No specific mention.
International law	No specific mention.
New institutions	No specific mention.
Violence against women	No specific mention.
Transitional justice	Transitional justice→Past and gender Page 2, Guiding Principles:
	 The Commission will consist of seven members, with gender balance taken into account.
Institutional reform No specific mention.	
Development	No specific mention.
Implementation	No specific mention.
Other	No specific mention.