Peace Agreement Access Tool PA-X https://test.pax.peaceagreements.org/

Country/entity Bangladesh

Chittagong Hill Tracts

Region Asia and Pacific

Agreement name Agreement between the National Committee on Chittagong Hill Tracts Constituted by the

Government and The Parbattya Chattagram Janasanghati Samity

Date 2 Dec 1997

Agreement status Multiparty signed/agreed

Interim Yes

arrangement

Agreement/conflict Intrastate/intrastate conflict

level

Chittagong Hill Tracts conflict (1977 - 1997)

The conflict was between the government and an indigenous group. Bengali settlement campaigns of the Chittagong Hills Tract region during the 1970s and 1980s spurred a violent conflict in 1977 between the Shanti Bahini, assisted by India, and the Bangladeshi government. Conflict was focused on a series of grievances including economic development, national identity and respect for indigenous traditions, and self-government. The 1997 peace agreement granted limited autonomy to the region and disarmament of the JSS began in 1998, but full implementation has faced a number of difficulties.

Close

Chittagong Hill Tracts conflict (1977 - 1997)

Stage Framework/substantive - comprehensive

Conflict nature Government/territory

Peace process Bangladesh-Chittagong Hills Tracts: peace process

Parties On behalf of the inhabitants of Chittagong Hill Tracts

SD/-

(Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma) President Parbattya Chattagram Jana Sanghati

Samit

On behalf of the government of the Peoples

Republic of Bangladesh

SD/- (Abul Hasanat Abdullah) Convenor National Committee on Chittagong Hill

Tracts Affairs,

Gov

Third parties

_

Description

This agreement sets out a framework for increased autonomous government by the tribal inhabitants of the Chittagong Hill Tracts. The agreement covers amendments to earlier legislation and provisions for amnesty and DDR of the Jana Samhati Samiti combatants; land reform; and repatriation and rehabilitation of refugees.

Agreement document

BD_971202_Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord.pdf (opens in new tab) | Download PDF

Women, girls and gender

Participation

Participation→Gender quotas

Page 2, B)(Kha) CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL/ HILL DISTRICT COUNCIL:

 \dots 4. a) There shall be 3 (three) seats for women in each of the Hill District Councils. One third (1/3) of these seats shall be for non-tribals.

Page 7, C) (Ga) THE CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS REGIONAL COUNCIL: 3. The Council shall be formed with 22(twenty-two) members including the Chairman. Two-thirds of the members shall be elected from among the tribals. The Council shall determine its procedure of functioning. Composition of the Council shall be as follows: Chairman 1 Members Tribal 12 Members Tribal (women) 2 Members non- tribal 6 Members non-tribal (women) 1 Among the tribal members 5 persons shall be elected from the Chakma tribe, 3 persons from the Marma tribe, 2 persons from the Tripura tribe, 1 person from the Murung and Tanchangya tribes and 1 person from the Lusai, Bawm, Pankho, Khumi, Chak and Khiyang tribes. Among the non-tribal members 2 persons shall be elected from each district. Among the tribal women members 1 woman shall be elected from the Chakma tribe and 1 woman from other tribes.

Page 8, C) (Ga) THE CHITTAGONG HILL TRACTS REGIONAL COUNCIL: 4. Three seats shall be reserved for women in the Council, one-third of which will be non-tribal.

Equality

No specific mention.

Particular groups of No specific mention. **women**

International law No

No specific mention.

New institutions

No specific mention.

Violence against

No specific mention.

women

Transitional justice No specific mention.

Institutional reform No specific mention.

Development No specific mention.

Implementation No specific mention.

Other No specific mention.